en | fr

Press release | 10.10.2019

MEPs joint declaration condemns Turkish military intervention in Syria

Sixty MEPs condemn Turkish military intervention in Syria

Sixty MEPs from different political groups in the European Parliament – including Greens/EFA - have come together to co-sign a political declaration that condemns Turkey's military intervention in Syria.

They call upon the EU to impose sanctions against Turkey and to tackle the humanitarian crisis in Rojava.

The declaration is copied below along with the list of signatories.

POLITICAL DECLARATION FOLLOWING THE INVASION OF THE ROJAVA REGION IN NORTH SYRIA BY 60 MEPS:

After hearing about the Turkish military attack this day against the Syrian Democratic Forces in Rojava, the undersigned MEPs:

- firmly condemn this assault and the Turkish leaders that commanded it, particularly Recep Erdogan;
- recall that the European Union collaborated with the SDF against Daesh, and that we are part of the same military coalition against it;
- denounce the diplomatic attitude of the US Trump administration, that abandons their allies and favours the attack by the Turkish army;
- ask the European Parliament, the European Commission and the European Council to quickly and firmly condemn Recep Erdogan's attack;
- ask the European Union to impose heavy economic and diplomatic sanctions against Turkey;
- ask the EU to take all necessary actions to tackle the humanitarian crisis in Rojava;

François ALFONSI (Verts/ALE), Andris AMERIKS (S&D), Attila ARA-KOVÀCS (S&D), Maria ARENA (S&D), Margrethe AUKEN (Verts/ALE), Pernando BARRENA (GUE/NGL), Pietro BARTOLO (S&D), Marek BELKA (S&D), Brando BENIFEI (S&D), Gabriele BISCHOFF (S&D), Benoît BITEAU (Verts/ALE), Simona BONAFÉ (S&D), Ionut BORDEIANU (S&D), Milan BRGLEZ (S&D), Delara BURKHARDT (S&D), Carlo CALENDA (S&D), Damien CARÊME (Verts/ALE), Isabel CARVALHAIS (S&D), Leila CHAIBI (GUE/NGL), David CORMAND (Verts/ALE), Andrea COZZOLINO (S&D), Petra DE SUTTER (Verts/ALE), Jill EVANS (Verts/ALE), Tanja FAJON (S&D), Giuseppe FERRANDINO (S&D), Elisabetta GUALMINI (S&D), Alexandra GEESE (Verts/ALE), Hannes HEIDE (S&D), Yannick JADOT (Verts/ALE), Łukasz KOHUT (S&D), Alice KUHNKE (Verts/ALE), Pierfrancesco MAJORINO (S&D), Margarida MARQUES (S&D), Costas MAVRIDES (S&D), Alessandra MORETTI (S&D), Leszek MILLER (S&D), NIINISTÖ Ville (Verts/ALE), Juozas OLEKAS (S&D), Pina PICIERNO (S&D), Giuliano PISAPIA (S&D), Evelyn REGNER (S&D), Diana RIBA I GINER (Verts/ALE), Michèle RIVASI (Verts/ALE), Franco ROBERTI (S&D), Caroline ROOSE (Verts/ALE), Isabel SANTOS (S&D), Mounir SATOURI (Verts/ALE), Andreas SCHIEDER (S&D), Günther SIDL (S&D), Massimiliano SMERIGLIO (S&D), Tineke STRIK (Verts/ALE), Patrizia TOIA (S&D), Marie TOUSSAINT (Verts/ALE), Nils UŠAKOVS (S&D), Nikolaj VILLUMSEN (GUE/NGL), Bettina VOLLATH (S&D), Julie WARD (S&D), Salima YENBOU (Verts/ALE), Elena YONCHEVA (S&D), Tatjana ZDANOKA (Verts/ALE)

Recommended

Press release



Georgia's parliamentary elections and visit of Viktor ...

28.10.2024

Press release



Diana Riba MEP Calls for End to Outsourcing Migration ...

23.10.2024



Plenary press briefing

22.10.2024

News

European Parliament building in Strasbourg / ${\rm @European}$ Union 2019 / Architecture-Studio



Debriefing of the October I 2024 plenary session

11.10.2024

Responsible MEPs



François Alfonsi

Member

Please share

<u>•E-Mail</u>